Scrivener: The Power Of Flexibility

One of the big brags I break out whenever I tell anyone about Scrivener comes down to just one word: Flexibility.

When I originally structured my novel, “My Blood Runs Cold”, I structured it with 3 acts laid out along 14 story beats. What I’ve been discovering, however, is that my writing style is still very much trained in the ways of the screenwriter.

What I mean by that is that my narration tends to be sparse and direct, with active verbs serving as drumbeats to short, sharp sentences. Things will get a little purple in places, then get trimmed back to the bare essentials.

This results in chapters that get the job done with a quickness. That’s quite a departure from my original writer’s voice, which tended to be Stephen King-esque in its verbosity.

Because my chapters have been coming up short on page count, I decided this evening that I wanted to consolidate 42 short chapters into a smaller number of chapters that each had a little more heft to them.

In other writing applications, that might have been a pain in the ass. But not with Scrivener. Simply selecting the chapters I wished to consolidate, then clicking [Documents], then clicking [Merge] was all it took.

If I change my mind later? There’s [Documents], then [Split].

That’s the power of Scrivener. Flexibility.

Go to http://www.literatureandlatte.com and discover the power of Scrivener.

Until next time, please remember to support this blog; do good work, and be good to yourselves and each other.

One comment

Leave a Reply

