F.U.B.A.R. Fugazi “Black Joe”

Black Joe



Introduction

Today, I’ll be reviewing another snuff from F.U.B.A.R. (an American-focused branding from Dholakia.) This one will be F.U.B.A.R. Fugazi “Black Joe”, a coffee-themed offering. It’s one of the more unusual specimens in my (admittedly small) collection, and by the time we arrive at the wrap-up, I think you’ll understand why.

 

Packaging

NewImage

 

The packaging of Black Joe is the more traditional tin, 30g in this case. One issue I have with the tin is that it isn’t threaded, but instead the top sort of “pops off” the tin when you want to open it. That makes it a bit of a pain in the ass and, frankly, because of that top, I don’t take it out on the town with me.

 

Nose

The nose on Black Joe is what I would call “coffee-like.” That is to say that, while it’s clearly intended to be a coffee flavor, it falls far short of achieving anything more than a distantly passing resemblance.

What I get much more of here is a mix of about 20% wet coffee grounds and a 80% sugar. While this will do in a pinch (pardon the phrase), it’s not particularly exciting.

 

Appearance

What I see when I look into the tin is a medium brown gros-grain. There’s a lot of moisture here, and the feel of the pinch is firm but soft and thick. Rolling this between thumb and forefinger pills the snuff easily, making it very easy to take the pinch.

 

Burn

This is where Black Joe begins to more strongly resemble its sibling, Toasted. The burn is strong and quick in arriving, though it fades quite quickly. It does catalyze strong mucus production which is equally as brief as the burn, so this one is a snuff you’ll want to have a handkerchief on hand for.

 

Rush

As with the burn, the rush of Black Joe is typical F.U.B.A.R., strong and quick but brief. The rush is more akin to a flash than a sunrise. It honestly leaves me somewhat underwhelmed because of that short duration.

 

Flavor

The flavor doesn’t deliver much of anything beyond what the nose suggests. And that’s a shame, because I really wanted to like this one when I ordered it. A good snuff can really complement the flavor of food and drink, and a good coffee flavored snuff would have been something marvelous at breakfast.

Sadly, what Black Joe delivers falls a long mile short of being a good coffee flavor. What I get is that same weak coffee with a ton of sugar, with tobacco laying somewhere far beneath all those sugary drifts.

 

Recommendation & Conclusion

Would I recommend Fugazi Black Joe? No, I wouldn’t. This is a snuff I’ll finish, but I won’t be finishing it soon. If someone offered me a pinch at a party and I hadn’t brought my PV or a tin of better snuff with me, I could still take it or leave it.

That doesn’t mean I’ve given up on coffee flavored snuffs; it just means I’m not thrilled with this one. Hopefully in the near future, Mr. Snuff will have Abraxas Cafe 11 back in stock. I hear good things about that one, and if/when I get ahold of that, I’ll give you my thoughts about it.


Thanks for reading, and until next time, please remember to support this blog; do good work, and be good to yourselves and each other.

Leave a Reply

