The Drip Club Review

DripClubRevLogo

 

Introduction

There have been eliquid subscription services since the beginning of this year. While I wrote for Spinfuel eMagazine, I reviewed two such services and compared their respective pros and cons, individually and in comparison with each other.

Today, I’m going to give you the skinny on yet another eliquid subscription service, as well as provide my own personal verdict on this business, both specifically with regard to their eliquid subscription service as well as more generally with regard to the subscription and the attached online storefront where you can purchase full size portions of the samples their subscription provides.

 

Plans

Currently, The Drip Club offers three different subscription plans:

 

  • A 1-Month (or month-to-month) subscription plan, priced at $29.99, which yields at least 50ml of liquid per box.
  • A 3-month subscription, priced at $28.99 per month (a total of $86.97 at checkout) which yields the same ~50ml per month but with the added benefit of free shipping.
  • A 6-month subscription priced at $27.99 per month and totaling $167.94 + free shipping at checkout — which, again, yields ~50ml of liquid per month.

 

The value proposition of each of these subscriptions is something you’ll have to decide for yourself, Dear Reader, as your budget allows; for me, the prices are a little rich, and the discount of only a dollar per month for each successively more expensive subscription isn’t quite tempting enough to trigger my spending impulse.

 

Delivery Time

Delivery time, once shipping has occurred, is actually pretty quick. What you need to know, though, is that shipments only occur once per month. So although your shipment will arrive as quickly as two or three days after it’s been shipped, you may have to wait nearly a month before shipping occurs.

From The Drip Club’s FAQ:

 

If I subscribe to Drip Club’s monthly samples packs, when do I get them?

By the first week of every month.

 

What I experienced was this: I paid for my subscription on June 2nd. My first package shipped on June 20th. It arrived on June 23rd. So, while the shipping was lightning-quick from departure to arrival, it was nearly three weeks between payment and receiving the goods.

 

 

 

 

 

The Box

The Drip Club’s monthly subscription arrives in a stylish black box featuring their logo, of course. Inside, everything is neatly wrapped in bubble wrap and then a thin styrofoam-like sheet. Resting atop that bundle were a couple of stickers and a card describing the service.

All very neat, very stylish, and very well protected against the possibility of postal sorter roughness. The presentation is very professional, and I certainly appreciate that.

 

The Liquids

The liquids I received in my Drip Club box were as follows:

 

1. E-Juice 2 Die 4 “Sing, Don’t Cry”

A fusion of Hpnotiq and Watermelon. Definitely a big surprise, and very refreshing.

 

2. Potion Vapes “Yellow Berry”

A sweet/tart citrus blend. Same as with “Sing, Don’t Cry” — a very refreshing vape for hot weather, but a definite surprise.

 

3. Trabuco Vapors “Silverado”

Blend of tobacco and Irish Whiskey. This is one from a brand I was really hoping to get. Very small portion, though, only 5ml.

 

4. Chapter XII Vapors “Hemingway”

Strawberry custard. Smooth, smooooth, and very flavorful with big time vapor.

 

5. Crypto-Juiceology “Kraken”

Cake with creamy frosting and a hint of orange. Sort of middle-of-the-road. Didn’t thrill me, but I’m not complaining, either.

 

 

The Curation

So how does that turnout of eliquids speak to the accuracy of The Drip Club’s curation? Well, I hate to say it, but not too well. Now, I don’t really expect laser accuracy, but my flavor preferences were for tobacco (1 out of 5 there, thanks to Silverado), coffee (nada on that one) and baked goods (1 out of 5 there, too, with Kraken.)

Now, in Drip Club’s defense, let me point out that there’s a possibility that I’m misunderstanding something I read in their FAQ: According to that, once your initial set of flavor preferences is saved, that’s what you’re going to get in your first box. Changes to it after the fact will be reflected in the following shipment. And I did make some changes after that first selection got saved: I added “orchard fruits” (I would assume from that apple, orange, pear, peach, and so on.)

So perhaps what I read in the FAQ was accurate when I read it but changed sometime between then and when I expanded my flavor preferences.

What I will say is that I definitely enjoyed all of the flavors I received.

 

The Store

But The Drip Club isn’t just a subscription service. While the subscription boxes contain sampler sizes, their online store offers full-size portions of each of the brands whose samplers the subscription is set up to tempt you with.

The store is easy to navigate, thanks to its clean and intuitive layout and color scheme, but the most important part is that some of the liquids you can pick up there are hard to find — or in some cases, like that of Trabuco Vapors, nearly impossible to find — anywhere else.

Prices seem to be very friendly and, as previously mentioned, shipping from the Drip Club is more than satisfactory when it comes to speed, protection, and style.

 

Recommendation

Down to brass tacks: Would I recommend The Drip Club?

 

The answer isn’t that simple. Is the subscription matrix they offer a good way to get your supply of liquid every month? Not in my opinion, no. 50ml of liquid for $30 bucks, give or take, works out to roughly $0.66 per milliliter. That’s just not cost-effective for as little eliquid as you’re getting.

Simply put, if you’re really curious about a straight-up eliquid subscription service, my recommendation is that you go with the first and probably the biggest of them, Zamplebox.

Would I recommend the Drip Club’s online store, though? When it comes to brands you may not find anywhere else, yes. Their regular store prices are cost-effective enough to make the purchases worth it, especially when it comes to brands like Trabuco and Chapter XII.

Ultimately, I would say that The Drip Club has a whole lot of potential, and I’ll be keeping watch to see what they do with it.


 

2 comments

  • eh The Drip Club is just ok… They have *some* good deals but overall it’s pretty lackluster. I’m also pretty peeved because they don’t publish negative or less than 4 (out of 5) star reviews. I did a few reviews all at the same time and one of the juices I got from them was just utterly disgusting. I wanted to warn folks and my post never got past the mods. Pretty unfortunate. Their return policy is also horrible. You should read it before you purchase. Basically there isn’t one. Overall I’d give them a 2.5/5 and only that high because of the limited Phillip Rocke collections there that you can’t find anywhere else.

    Like

    • Hey, thanks for the heads up! It’s been a long while now since I evaluated Drip Club, and as with any product or service, time can see it evolve for the better — or for the worse.

      Like

Leave a Reply

