Ulysses: Markdown Suits Up

Ulysses

Introduction:

As a writer, I absolutely love Scrivener, and I’ve not been the least bit shy about my gushing. However, also owing to that terrible deficit in my character (being a writer, not praising software I love), I also have an undying curiosity for all things writing-related; that goes, especially, for writing apps.

So it was that I recently gave a new app a spin: Ulysses, by The Soulmen. And in doing so, I discovered a whole new kind of writing app.

Markdown:

I’ve come to think of Markdown and its derivatives as “HTML for the rest of us.” To me, no other way to explain what it is seems quite as concise and layman-friendly.

While proper word processors have relied on the WYSIWYG (“What You See Is What You Get”) paradigm for the last 20-30 years, Markdown is built around a radically different premise: software agnosticism. A Markdown document produced by one Markdown-centric app will look the same in any Markdown-centric app. This is achieved by radically simplifying the tags used for formatting the document. This is because Markdown is a language, in the same way that HTML is a language. Formatting is achieved through text-based tags rather than through the app’s software code.

That’s Markdown. Now let’s get to the meat of this piece: Ulysses.

 

You can purchase Ulysses for $44.99 through the Mac App Store, or learn more and download a trial copy directly from http://ulyssesapp.com/mac/

Thanks for reading, thanks for watching, and as always: Do good work, and be good to yourselves and each other.

If you’ve enjoyed this post — and I very much hope that you have — consider making a donation in the amount of your choice.

Btn donate SM

Leave a Reply

