Moving To Medium

Moving to Medium

Moving To Medium

You’ve probably noticed that there hasn’t really been much activity on this blog for quite a while. Partially, it’s been due to the fact that I’ve been pretty busy editing two novels (and now a third) and I’ve been having such a blast doing it that I’ve been thinking about little else writing related.

Partially, it’s because, owing to the above, I just haven’t come up with much to say. Between the two, I think it’s fair to say that I’ve been practicing so much that I haven’t had the time or the energy for preaching.

But the last piece of the puzzle is this: Blogging should be simple; not necessarily easy, but simple. And my workflow hasn’t really been giving me the simplicity, lately, that I find I want. To publish to WordPress has me working through three separate apps to do what I want:

I create a header graphic in Logoist 2. Then I compose in Ulysses (it used to be I’d use Pages). Then I copy and paste first the header graphic, then the text, into MarsEdit. Then I view the post in Safari, where I have to edit it for one of a few reasons: Every time, I have to set the Featured Image; occasionally, I also have to re-polish the formatting, as well.

All in all, it takes me a good 10 extra minutes. I know, I know: First World Problems.

But, wait! How do I know it takes 10 extra minutes? Well, because I found a workflow that gets it done 10 minutes quicker.

I still have to create the header graphic in Logoist 2; that part is a must. But now I can comfortably compose and publish every post, header graphic in place and uploaded without any fiddling, directly from Ulysses — to Medium.

Does Medium offer everything I want in a publishing platform? Does it have feature parity with WordPress? No — or, at any rate, not that I know of. I don’t know that it mirrors WordPress’s awesome Publicize function. I don’t know if it allows people to subscribe. It almost certainly doesn’t allow me to advertise my fiction or my writing tools.

But I’m willing to find out; at the very least, I’ll be making Medium my “first stop” for each post, then echoing each post on WordPress after it goes up there.

So that’s the heads-up on what’s going on with the blog.

Until next time, thanks for reading; do good work, and be good to yourselves and each other.

Leave a Reply

